(This is a continuation of this post.  It is a fictional account of a client coming into the crisis pregnancy center where I volunteer.  This scenario was developed from a role-play we did at the center.)

Moments of silence passed.  My heart ached for this young lady.  We sat as the warmth of the deep turquoise walls held us.  Where would I take her now?  How could I help her? What words would speak to her hurting heart?

“What about your parents?  What have they taught you?”

“My father taught me about life and creation.  I know it is wrong to take a life.  I have gone to Bible study with my mother, but I just don’t know.”

“What does your father say about your mother’s faith?”

“He says that Jesus couldn’t be the Messiah because Jesus came as a baby in a manger.  He didn’t come fighting and making everything right.”

“May I share my story with you?  I became a Christian in my early teen years and went to church throughout high school and my adult life.  In the past few years, however, I began studying from a different perspective.  I began looking at the historical context of the Bible.  My family and I now celebrate the Biblical holidays like Passover and Hanukkah.  So, we are a little different than the average Christian.”

“Where do you do that?”  Rachel asked with interest.

“In a home Bible study,” I replied.  “One thing that is interesting is that while there were many at the time who believed that Yeshua was the Messiah there was at least one prominent person who questioned Him.  Christians call him John the Baptist.”

Rachel nodded her head.

“In the Christian tradition Jesus went to John to be baptized.  But, we know that Jewish people were doing the mikvah hundreds or more years before the 2nd Temple period, right?”

“Yes.”

“When Yeshua came to John the Baptist to be immersed John said, ‘Behold, the Lamb of God who takes away the sin of the world.’  John was eventually put in prison and he then sent his disciples to ask Yeshua…..”

“Are you the One or should we look for someone else?”

She knew the story.

“Yeshua answered him saying, ‘Go and report to John what you hear and see: the blind receive sight and the lame walk, the lepers are cleansed and the deaf hear, the dead are raised up, and the poor have the gospel preached to them. And blessed is he who does not take offense at Me.’ These were all things that had been prophesied the Messiah would do.  It was only the Messiah that could cleanse a leper and raise the dead. Yeshua came first as a baby to come to call HaShem’s people to repentance.  He will come again to usher in the Kingdom of Heaven on earth.  I would encourage you to look into these things for yourself.”

Her head nodded.  She was silent.  Thoughtful.  So much to take in.

“Can we see what’s in that tin now?”  Rachel asked quietly.

I lifted the lid that would reveal whether or not a child was also in our midst.

Two lines.  Yes, he was there.  Shouting in the silence.  And the tears.

“What are your thoughts now, Rachel?”

“Well, I just can’t have this baby.  I want to go back to school.  I have goals.”

Her head shook back and forth.  I offered the box of tissues.

“Let’s think about your options.”

“What options do I have?  There is only one option.”

“Have you thought about the possibility of placing your baby for adoption?  I could give you some information on that.”

She paused in thought.

“What about your boyfriend?  How would he feel if he knew about this child?  Or your parents?”

“My boyfriend and I don’t talk about things like that.  He has his own goals.  He is Jewish, though and he goes to synagogue a lot.  He really likes his rabbi.”

“Maybe it’s time to talk about some of these things.”

Silence.

“Rachel, you are having to deal with some pretty heavy stuff right now.”  I didn’t want her to leave without giving her some hope.  She was so vulnerable I wanted to be sure she would decide to choose life for her baby. “Are you going to tell your boyfriend or your parents about this baby?”

“No, I just need time to think about this by myself.  I need to think about it for awhile.”

“My greatest concern is for you right now.  I want you to know that we are here for you and want to offer support for you in whatever way we can.”

“Do you have information I can take with me on adoption?  I need to think.”

“Yes, I can get some information for you to take home.   What are you going to say to people because I think that those who love you are going to ask?”

“Why do you say that?”

“Because this has been so emotional for you and I don’t know that you can carry the weight of this without people seeing it in your countenance.  I am concerned about you.  Can you wait on any decisions for a couple of days and make an appointment to come back to see me and talk some more?”

“Yes, I think I can do that.”

“May I pray with you?”

“Sure.”

“Father, God of Abraham, Isaac, and Jacob, I bless you that you are Creator and Redeemer.  You are intimately acquainted with all our ways. I bless you that you have brought Rachel here today.  I bless you Father, that you have a plan for her life.  You have knit her together, Father.  This life within her Father did not take You by surprise.   I bring Rachel, her boyfriend, and her family before you today. I ask that you give Rachel wisdom and guidance as she makes the decisions she has to make.  Father, she has been brought up to seek You.  I pray that she would seek you with all of her heart.  Reveal Yourself to her, Father.  Show her Your ways.  I pray that You give her Peace in the midst of this difficult time.  In the name of Yeshua the Messiah.  Amen.

This entry was posted in crisis pregnancy center, Personal Journal. Bookmark the permalink.