“What is redemption?”

The question came so innocently and unexpectedly from the youngest of those who can speak in our congregation that it startled.  His mother knew what to say.

“It means to be paid for, to be bought back.”

Nor silver nor gold hath obtained my redemption,
No riches of earth could have saved my poor soul;
The blood of the cross is my only foundation,
The death of my Saviour now maketh me whole.

Refrain:
I am redeemed, but not with silver;
I am bought, but not with gold;
Bought with a price, the blood of Jesus,
Precious price of love untold.

In Him was life, and the life was the Light of men. The Light shines in the darkness, and the darkness did not comprehend it. (John 1:4-5)

“Then Jesus again spoke to them, saying,  ‘I am the Light of the world; he who follows Me will not walk in the darkness, but will have the Light of life.'” (John 8:12)

But you are A CHOSEN RACE, A royal PRIESTHOOD, A HOLY NATION, A PEOPLE FOR God’s OWN POSSESSION, so that you may proclaim the excellencies of Him who has called you out of darkness into His marvelous light” (1 Peter 2:9)

For you were formerly darkness, but now you are Light in the Lord; walk as children of Light” (Eph. 5:8)

“Let your light shine before men in such a way that they may see your good works, and glorify your Father who is in heaven.” (Matthew 5:8)






This entry was posted in Biblical Holidays, Hanukkah, Learning, Personal Journal, walk with God. Bookmark the permalink.