Yes, the view you see in my blog header is not your typical Wisconsin winter scene.  I have just spent three weeks in Colorado with my daughter and her husband as they welcomed their firstborn son into their home.  It was a time filled with God’s grace for all.  I will be adding to my 1000 gifts list at some point today and will add another post on that topic.  For now, becoming a grandmother.

This summer I turned 50.  Just the anticipation of the event was…..well let’s just say that I wasn’t looking forward to it.  Then my daughter told me that I was going to be a grandmother.  A double whammy.  Yet, I remembered back when I began to get gray hair.  All of my peers were coloring their gray at the time and I wondered if I should choose that option also.

“A gray head is a crown of glory; It is found in the way of righteousness.” Proverbs 16:31

Being a grandmother is a badge of honor.  Though the world glorifies youth, God calls us to honor and respect the elderly. Though the world sees my life as ending, I can use the experiences I have had to lead others and point them toward Him.

“And even when I am old and gray, O God, do not forsake me, until I declare Your strength to this generation, Your power to all who are to come.” Psalm 71:18

My friend, Gentle Strength, prays like the apostle Paul did in Phil. 1:26, “so that through my being with you again your joy in Christ Jesus will overflow on account of me.”  I pray that this is my hope also.  May I not sorrow and become depressed about getting older, but may I seek to bring joy to others in all I do and say.

For His Name’s Sake.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.