Seems I have been taking pictures forever.   The passion began in jr. high and has grown with me through the years.  You would think that my skill would be finely honed by now.  Alas, this is not the case. There is always something new to learn, always a way to improve. Thankfully, my husband has been very supportive and my daughter, a photographer herself, often gives tips on how to improve in the technical area of shooting.  I would consider myself a newbie.  But, I am farther along on the journey than others.

Last summer, my dear husband gave me a Canon 40D for my birthday.  When I was away  in Colorado for three weeks he and my daughter surprised me with a new 50mm f/1.8 II lens.  I love this portrait lens, but it is taking me awhile to get used to.  The lens is a little slower and has a different focal length than the 28-135mm that I already had.  Having the ability to open the aperture to f/1.8 is wonderful.  This makes for some clean, crisp pictures and some nice bokeh, when I can find the focal length.

I’m adding this post to a series that Brooke has begun called “Journals of a Photography Newbie”.  Why not join us as we share, smile, and learn from each other.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.