Dear Benjamin,
There are so many things that I want to tell you that I hardly know where to begin.  But, as I was reading my Bible today I think the Lord gave me direction.

“I will cause Your name to be remembered in all generations…” Psalm 45:17

Last week in our time of worship we were talking about Proverbs 18:10, “The name of the LORD is a strong tower; the righteous run into it and are safe.”

It seems as the world is going crazy right now, Ben.  There are earthquakes, tsunamis, wars and more wars,  poverty and suffering, people are being deceived.  To be honest, it can be unnerving.  But, when we remember the name of the LORD we find rest.

Names, in the Bible, are associated with a person’s character.  God has many, many names because He is so big and there are so many aspects to His character.  There are times when God reveals Himself in the Bible in different ways.  To Hagar, He was the God Who Sees.  To Abraham, God Almighty.  King David called God many different names including, My Glory and the One Who Lifts My Head.

There is one place in the Bible where God names Himself.  Exodus chapter 3 tells the story of God appearing to Moses in the burning bush.  Moses turns aside to see what it is that is going on.  God tells Moses that he is chosen to go and free the children of Israel from their bondage in Egypt.  Moses questions God’s plan several times and each time God gives Moses the assurance that God will be with Him and has everything under control.

Now Moses was raised in Pharaoh’s household.  He knows the obstacles he will encounter.  In verse 13 he raises this question, ” ‘Behold, I am going to the sons of Israel, and I will say to them, ‘The God of your fathers has sent me to you.’ Now they may say to me, ‘What is His name?’ What shall I say to them?'”

“God said to Moses, “I AM WHO I AM”; and He said, “Thus you shall say to the sons of Israel, ‘I AM has sent me to you.'” God, furthermore, said to Moses, “Thus you shall say to the sons of Israel, ‘The LORD, the God of your fathers, the God of Abraham, the God of Isaac, and the God of Jacob, has sent me to you ‘ This is My name forever, and this is My memorial-name to all generations.” (Exodus 3:14-15)

“I Am WHO I AM”,  in the Hebrew is YHVH, the unutterable name of God.  Ehyeh-Asher-Ehyeh, “I will be known by what I do.”  Moses and the Israelites had to keep their eyes open and see what God would do.  He was faithful to rescue them.

The events of Egypt had been spoken of hundreds of years before.  The things we see happening today were also spoken of thousands of years ago by Jesus who was given a Name above every name.  He calmed the storm and said, “Peace.  Be Still.”  He can calm the storm that rages in our hearts as well.   All He is He is to me.  I pray that one day He will be the same to you, Ben.

For His Name’s Sake,

Grandma

This entry was posted in 1000 gifts, Personal Journal, walk with God. Bookmark the permalink.